Student Athletes

For NCAA information on COVID-19 and the impact on student athletes please visit the NCAA website at



For students who have aspirations of participating in college athletics there are some important items to know about the process and the eligibility requirements for each of the athletic associations.  Most collegiate athletic programs are classified as part of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) or the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA). The NCAA was created to established rules on eligibility, recruiting, and athletic scholarships. The NCAA has three membership divisions; Division I, Division II, and Division III. Institutions are members according to size and scope of their athletic programs and to what degree they provide athletic scholarships. Division I and II student athletes are able to receive athletic scholarships and Division III student athletes are not able to receive any athletic scholarships. Please remember that it is never too early to begin the researching the eligibility process and keep your counselor and coach informed so they can assist you. Athletes must have their transcript including ACT/SAT scores evaluated by the NCAA Eligibility Center to determine initial eligibility for participation. To be certified by the Eligibility Center a student must:

  • Graduate from high school       
  • Complete the NCAA core course requirements
  • Earn a minimum required grade point average in core courses
  • Earn a minimum SAT or ACT score                                                                                                                                    

The following links are provided to assist high school athletes and their parents:

presentation-icon-png-23 Presentation appeal Handouts

ncaa     naia  NJCAA   NCCAA